Punjab elections results: 3 MLAs from Kamboj community

3 Kamboj MLAs in Punjab

The Congress has made a resounding comeback in Punjab, winning a solid 77 seats in the 117-seat Assembly. Anti-incumbency may have helped the party notch up its big score. The AAP won less than it was expected to. Still, its 20 seats on debut do make it the second largest party in the Punjab Assembly. The SAD-BJP alliance – expected to be reduced to single digits – fared the worst, with 18 seats.

Results of Punjab assembly elections 2017 was declared today by the Election Commission. From Ghanuar seat, Congress emerged victorious. Congress had given the the ticket to former MLA Madan Lal Thekedar Jalalpur from Ghanaur. AAP had fielded Anu Randhawa, daughter of former state minister Jasjit Singh Randhawa from the constituency. The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) candidate from the seat was incumbent MLA Harpreet Kaur Mukhmailpur.

Mukhmailpur, better known as Bibi, had won the elections in 2012 with a thin margin of over 1,000 votes. Although she is among the favourites to win the election, pollsters have not underestimated the AAP wave in west Malwa region. Anu Randhawa, the AAP candidate, received significant amount of support during her poll campaign. Randhawa pins hope in the legacy of her late father, the former two-time MLA, along with the ‘aam aadmi’ tag she has earned in the region.

Punjab – Ghanaur
Result Declared
Candidate Party Votes
THEKEDAR MADAN LAL JALALPUR Indian National Congress 65965
ANU RANDHAWA Aam Aadmi Party 23188
JAGJEET SINGH Bahujan Samaj Party 1275
GURSEWAK SINGH Democratic Swaraj Party 1131
BALJIT SINGH Jai Jawan Jai Kisan Party 462
SURINDER KAUR Independent 388
None of the Above None of the Above 82


The final tally declared by Election Commission at 4:36 PM confirmed the victory of Congress in Rajpura. Hardial Singh Kamboj ended up winning the seat by a margin of nearly 23,000 votes. AAP’s Ashutosh Joshi came second, bagging 26542 seats, whereas, the BJP candidate Harjit Singh Grewal secured 19,151 votes.

Punjab – Rajpura
Result Declared
Candidate Party Votes
HARDIAL SINGH KAMBOJ Indian National Congress 59107
ASHUTOSH JOSHI Aam Aadmi Party 26542
HARJIT SINGH GREWAL Bharatiya Janata Party 19151
JAGDISH KUMAR Independent 15073
NIRMALJIT SINGH Independent 3939
RAVINDER JAIN Bahujan Samaj Party 1126
SOBHA SINGH Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar)(Simranjit Singh Mann) 684
MAHESH KUMAR Independent 443
DALBIR SINGH Independent 429
RAJINDER KUMAR Aapna Punjab Party 282
SHER SINGH Jai Jawan Jai Kisan Party 271
None of the Above None of the Above 1026

In the 2012 assembly elections, Hardial Singh Kamboj of Congress wrested the seat from BJP with a margin of more than 30,000 votes. Backed by Congress’ chief ministerial candidate Capt Amarinder Singh, Hardial was considered among the favourites to win the elections held on February 4.

Samana constituency is one of the 117 seats of Punjab Vidhan Sabha and its constituency number is 116. Rajinder Singh Kamboj, who belongs to Congress, is the current MLA of Samana and he became MLA by winning the current elections held in 2017.

Punjab – Samana
Result Declared
Candidate Party Votes
RAJINDER SINGH Indian National Congress 62551
SURJIT SINGH RAKHRA Shiromani Akali Dal 52702
JAGTAR SINGH RAJLA Aam Aadmi Party 28884
RAJINDER SINGH Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar)(Simranjit Singh Mann) 1854
DAVINDER SINGH DHIMAN Bahujan Samaj Party 1084
AJAIB SINGH BATHOI Independent 501
RAJINDER SINGH Independent 348
JASPAL SINGH Independent 250
None of the Above None of the Above 1052